The memories of music

May 3, 2016 § Leave a comment

I’ve been following The Daily Post for some time and more recently their series of daily prompts.  I half-heartedly started on something intended to be deep, somewhat cynical yet wholly moving – and promptly gave up after two paragraphs.  On browsing through some of the blogs today with their stories and poems about Scars, I’m glad I stopped when I did.  I thought I had something important to say, something powerfully unique.  It seems we all do.  Many of us even share the same scars.

As far as music goes, I suspect many others also share the same love and connection with it as myself.  I almost always write to music.  I can only meditate with music.  It can change my mood instantaneously.  And the memories – ah, the memories!  Like a passing scent that revives a long distant sensation, music takes me back to places, people, passions.

  • A Thousand Years by Christina Perri – a footstep with each beat, down a grassy aisle to my husband-to-be.
  • Ritornare by Italian composer Ludovico Einaudi – my go to piece for heartfelt writing.
  • Celebration by Kool & The Gang – my housemate and I dancing like 80’s popstars in our kitchen in Tuart Hill.
  • King of the Mountain by Midnight Oil – road-tripping up north with my husband.
  • My Time by Crystal Waters – dancing in a red dress with a cocktail in hand at the Red Sea.
  • Bluebird by Katie Noonan – driving home at 3am in the morning from my lover’s apartment.
  • Someone Like You by Van Morrison – the song that I promised myself would be my wedding song (and it was).
  • Punk by Ferry Corsten – dancing like a mad raver under UV lights at Rise.
  • In Your Atmosphere by John Mayer – driving alone at night, guided by the city lights.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The memories of music at EVERCHASE.

meta

