Be brief

June 7, 2014 § 2 Comments

Writing 101, Day Five.

You discover a letter on a path that affects you deeply.  Today, write about this encounter.  And your twist?  Be as succinct as possible.

I sat quietly on the train, waiting between suits and briefcases.  Without looking at anyone, I silently crossed my ankles and tucked a lock of hair behind my ear.

As we eventually pulled out of the city, I thought about the letter I found today, now tucked away safely in my handbag.  A small, almost imperceptible smile crossed my lips as I re-read its contents in my mind.

I pulled my handbag closer into my chest, squeezing it against me.

I was going home.  Perhaps today was not such a good day to die after all.

§ 2 Responses to Be brief

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Be brief at EVERCHASE.

meta

